The other feast when Osama was killed

Posted on May 7, 2011

1



The death of Osama bin Laden did not only coincide with the beatification of Pope John Paul II. The terrorist leader died on the first Sunday after Easter – the Feast of Divine Mercy.

Decreed also coincidentally by Blessed John Paul II in 2000, the feast was requested by the Lord himself in an authenticated series of apparitions to Saint Faustina Kowalska in the 1930s. “On one occasion,” the Polish saint wrote in her diary, “I heard these words: ‘My daughter, tell the whole world about My inconceivable mercy. I desire that the Feast of Mercy be a refuge and shelter for all souls, especially for all sinners. On that day the very depths of My tender mercy are open. I pour out a whole ocean of graces upon those souls who approach the fount of My mercy.'”

"The two rays denote Blood and Water. The pale ray stands for the Water which makes souls righteous. The red ray stands for the Blood which is the life of souls. These two rays issued forth from the very depths of My tender mercy when My agonized heart was opened by a lance on the Cross. These rays shield souls from the wrath of My Father" (words of the Divine Mercy to St. Faustina; excerpt from the saint's diary).

We know that bin Laden has been buried in the sea, but we do not know, and we cannot claim to know, what has happened to this infamous person’s soul. It is akin to asking where the Lord’s betrayer, Judas, now is. If Jesus baffled the people of his time by dining with tax collectors and promising a place in heaven to a hardened thief, the most we can say is: Who knows?

“My mercy is so great,” the Lord said to St. Faustina, “that no mind, be it of man or of angel, will be able to fathom it throughout all eternity.”

Eternal rest grant upon Osama bin Laden, O Lord, and let perpetual light shine upon him. May he rest in peace. Amen.

Holy God, Holy Mighty One, Holy Immortal One, have mercy on us and on the whole world. Holy God, Holy Mighty One, Holy Immortal One, have mercy on us and on the whole world. Holy God, Holy Mighty One, Holy Immortal One, have mercy on us and on the whole world. Amen.
