Pixels: Cheche Lazaro on the ‘sting of rejection’

Posted on November 23, 2011

0



What is it like to wait for 15 years after college to achieve your lifelong dream? That was exactly the experience of my former boss, Cheche Lazaro, who said at our graduation almost four years ago that she was “not a stranger to rejection.” She was a long-time broadcasting professor at the University of the Philippines before getting to work in media in her 40s.

Shortly afterwards she founded The Probe Team, the first investigative news magazine on Philippine television. Her baby that was almost two decades in the making became a trailblazer.

Here are excerpts from an article about her written by another former boss of mine, Booma Cruz:

Even as a full-time teacher, Lazaro never forgot about television reporting and had her ears on the latest job opportunities in media. She applied but was rejected several times as a news anchor.

“I was rejected everywhere. I didn’t pass the audition. I think I was not pretty enough. I was already in my late 30s. They were looking for young people. Loren (Legarda) was my student and she was already a big name at Channel 9,” she recalled.

For Lazaro, the sting of rejection was nothing compared to the guilt of deliberately abandoning a mission. “Even if I get embarrassed, I can tell myself honestly, at least I tried. That’s the way it goes. I am not going to use any influence. I am not going to approach anybody. I am just going to try because if I make it, I want to make it on my own.”

What does this tell us, young people used to instant gratification?

(“Pixels” is the new feature of my blog, The Wide Shot, in which I plan to share interesting tidbits from things I read)

Posted in: Life lessons, Media